What is the AAML

The American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers was founded in 1962 in Chicago, Illinois, by highly regarded domestic relations attorneys “To provide leadership that promotes the highest degree of professionalism and excellence in the practice of family law.” There are currently more than 1600 Fellows in 50 states.

The Academy Fellows are highly skilled negotiators and litigators who represent individuals in all facets of family law. These areas include divorce, annulment, prenuptial agreements, postnuptial agreements, marital settlement agreements, child custody and visitation, business valuations, property valuations and division, alimony, child support and other family law issues.

To be represented by a Fellow of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers is to be represented by a leading practitioner in the field of family law. The 1600 AAML Fellows across the United States are generally recognized by judges and attorneys as preeminent family law practitioners with a high level of knowledge, skill and integrity. Academy Fellows enjoy a reputation for professionalism, competence and integrity.

National AAML Membership:
Almost 1,600 members in 50 states 
National AAML Founded:
1962 in Chicago, Illinois

32 Members from Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County/City, Frederick County, Howard County, and Montgomery County

"To provide leadership that promotes the highest degree of professionalism and excellence in the practice of family law."

Areas of Expertise:
Divorce, prenuptial agreements, postnuptial agreements, annulment, child custody and visitation, property valuation and division, alimony and child support.

Qualifications for Membership:

  • Be recognized by the bench and bar in his or her jurisdiction as an expert practitioner in matrimonial law.
  • Admitted to bar 10 years, a practicing attorney, with 75 percent of practice is in matrimonial law in at least each of the 3 last years prior to application, but subject to exception in certain geographic areas and other exceptional circumstances.
  • Have state family law certification if it exists.  None exists in the State of Maryland.
  • Completed 12 hours of continuing legal education in the field of matrimonial law during each of previous five years.
  • Pass oral and/or written examination on wide-ranging issues pertaining to matrimonial and family law.
  • Be interviewed by a state board of examiners as well as be passed upon by other matrimonial law practitioners in the state.
  • Aspire to the ethical standards set forth in the "Bounds of Advocacy" as well as state bar rules of professional conduct.
  • Demonstrate involvement in study or improvement of matrimonial law, such as publishing articles or faculty member on continuing education presentations.